Grower of the Year Award
Text size:

2015 Application Deadlines
  • Preliminary Applications due APRIL 16, 2015  Download Preliminary Application Form >
  • Finalist Applications due APRIL 30, 2015
  • Winner announced at CNLA National Awards of Landscape Excellence ceremony AUGUST 19, 2015

Based on member feedback, the application process for CNLA’s Grower of the Year Award has been modified to make it easier for nursery growers to participate in this program.   The new process will see judges selecting up to three nurseries from the preliminary applications that are received and will invite them to compete as a finalist through completion of the full application form. 

The change to the application process is complemented by a change to the deadline schedule, to both the CNLA Awards program and the subsequent international AIPH Grower of the Year Award.  The winner of the 2015 Grower of the Year Award will be invited to receive their award at the CNLA’s National Awards of Landscape Excellence Gala in Winnipeg this August. 

The CNLA’s Grower of the Year Award will also be submitted to the AIPH Grower of the Year Award competition, which will be presented at the IPM trade show in Essen Germany in January 2016.   Return airfare and hotel accommodations will be made available to the top entrants in this prestigious international event.


*Sponsorship Opportunity!*

There is an opportunity to become the Grower of the Year Award title sponsor, click here for more information >



Winkelmolen Nurseries wins 2014 Grower of the Year

The 2014 Grower of the Year award went to Winkelmolen Nurseries in Ontario for demonstrating excellence in all seven of the Grower of the Year Award categories. 

CNLA extends its sincere congratulations to Winkelmolen Nurseries on their receipt of the Award of Merit at the recent AIPH Grower of the Year Award ceremonies, held in Qingdoa, China.  For the fourth consecutive year, a Canadian nursery has been shortlisted to represent Canada at this prestigious international event, once again that Canada boasts some of the finest production nurseries in the world.




Sheridan Nurseries Ltd. wins 2013 Grower of the Year

The 2013 Grower of the Year award went to Sheridan Nurseries Ltd., in Ontario for demonstrating sound economic performance, innovation in production and technique, strong market orientation and professional company image, high environmental standards, and sound human resource policy.

We are excited that Canada has won the coveted Golden Rose award from AIPH for the last two years!  First by Byland Nurseries of British Columbia in 2011, and then by Sheridan Nurseries of Ontario in 2012.  Congratulations to these two companies for representing our country so well on the international stage!  And good luck to Sheridan as they are compete in the 2013 AIPH International Grower of the Year competition.

Click here to read the press release from Sheridan Nurseries on winning two national awards in 2013.



Sheridan Nurseries Ltd. is announced as the 2012 Grower of the Year

We have another winner!  Sheridan Nurseries Ltd. (Georgetown, ON) was announced as the winner of the 2012 RBC Grower of the Year Award at the CNLA’s National Awards gala held February 8, 2012 in Halifax, NS.  In making the presentation, Growers’ Canada chair Owen Vanstone noted that Sheridan Nurseries exemplified the many qualities that more and more are garnering international recognition for Canada’s wholesale nursery sector.  As well as the production of top quality nursery stock, Sheridan’s entry highlighted their commitment to all facets of sound business and production management.  Sheridan’s continues to be marketplace leaders in innovation and production techniques as well as environmental stewardship, all backed up with a strong human resource policy. 

Sheridan Nurseries will automatically be entered in the AIPH International Grower of the Year program.  Runners up will be invited to participate in an awards gala, held each year in a different country.   This year’s event will be held in The Netherlands, in conjunction with the ever-popular Floriade.  “We’re expecting to bring home one of the prestigious rose awards again this year,” predicted Owen.

 Sheridan has won the prestigious Golden Rose at the annual AIPH election of the International Grower of the Year! Continue reading...

See how they did it! 

Click here to view Sheridan Nurseries’ entry package



Bylands Nurseries brings home the Gold Rose Award

Owen Vanstone, chair of Growers’ Canada, is pleased to announce the presentation of the prestigious Gold Rose award to Bylands Nurseries at the third annual International Grower of the Year Award. The announcement was made at the Annual Congress 
of the International Association of 
Horticultural Producers (AIPH), held 
September 27, 2011 in Xi’an, China.

A total of six nominees were received for this year’s program. As in Canada, these growers were winners of their national awards of excellence competition. The silver rose was awarded to Majestic Trees of the United Kingdom, and The Green Innovator of The Netherlands was the recipient of the bronze rose.

“It was a great honour to receive this award, especially as this is the first year for Canada’s participation,” said John Byland.  “I wish to acknowledge the foresight of Owen Vanstone in bringing this program to Canada, and the support of the CNLA in making the national Grower of the Year Award possible.”

“On behalf of all the members of CNLA, 
I extend sincere congratulations to Bylands Nurseries,” said CNLA president Bill 
Stensson. “This is great news for our 
industry and will help to support our efforts both in Ottawa and at the international level as well.”

This prestigious international competition 
is financially supported by AIPH and FloraCulture International (magazine).

Bylands Nurseries wins first ever RBC Grower of the Year Award

See how they did it!

Click here to view Bylands Nurseries’ entry package



Bookmark and Share
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter
Privacy by SafeSubscribe
For Email Marketing you can trust
Quick Links

Membership Directory

ind CNLA members

Landscape Industry Certified

Learn more about becoming a Landscape Industry Certified professional. Find test dates, study materials, and more. Follow us on Twitter!

Green Careers Canada

There are plenty of career opportunities in the field of horticulture. The Landscape industry has worked closely with the Ministries of Training, Colleges and Universities (MTCU), to provide education at the high school, college and university levels that give individuals the skills they need for a successful career in the industry.

National Awards of Landscape Excellence

Recognizing Canadian companies that raise the level of professionalism in the landscape industry.  2016 awards ceremony to be held in Kelowna, BC this August.

Garden Days

Canada’s coast to coast, three-day celebration of National Garden Day which is held annually on the Friday before Father’s Day.

National Tree Day

A day set-aside to celebrate Canada's greatest natural resource.  Happens the Wednesday of National Forest Week in September.

Canadian Standards for Nursery Stock

Minimum standards for the nursery industry, for use by students, educators and professionals.

Canadian Nursery Certification Institute

An independent industry body with a mandate to administer nursery certification programs in Canada.


CNLA on FacebookCNLA on TwitterCNLA on LinkedIn

Remodeling and Home Design